Nutrition

Friday’s Find: Vega One Nutritional Shake

Shakeology and I have had a romance affair for almost two years and I attribute reaching my fitness goals to this amazing product.  However, the price became prohibitive once we left the Army and honestly, my stomach was starting to ache.  My hunt to find an adequate replacement JUST ended in what I think is not only an amazing dupe but most likely a better solution for practically everyone out there!
*These are my own opinions.  No money is passing hands.

vega-one

My Story

A couple years ago when my husband was deployed I decided to become a Beachbody Coach.  My goal was to get really fit while he was gone.  After doing a P90X3 workout Tony H. convinced me I needed to up my game with Shakeology.  I found out that by becoming a coach I could get the shake for a lot less AND make money if I convinced others to buy it too.  Thus began my almost two year use of Shakeology.

I honestly contribute my results to Shakeology.  I shed extra pounds and built up muscle. Typically I would drink Shakeology daily for lunch which of course kept my calories in check and gave me the nutrition I needed to build muscle.

Over the past fall/winter my usage of Shakeology slowed way down.  I didn’t feel like drinking a cold nutrition drink during the fall months and honestly it was hurting my stomach.  I tried to only drink the vegan flavors and that helped but I still ended up almost dreading having a shake.  And since we were leaving the Army and I would have to pay for my Beachbody Coach account, I decided to close it all down.

However, getting rid of my shake (plus a bunch of other factors) suddenly resulted in quite a weight gain!  It’s taken a few weeks of thought to really get the causes identified and the new habits determined but I realized I NEEDED a meal replacement shake in my daily lineup to not only provide the majority of my nutrition but to also create that constant, dependable meal.

Nutrition Comparison

After reading a few blogs I discovered Vega One.  I loved the fact that it was all vegan, no soy, no gluten, and that it also rocked only whole foods.  Even better than Shakeology was that there was no added fructose, just stevia.  I’ve made up a couple comparison charts for you so you can see for yourself and make an educated decision:

screen-shot-2017-03-03-at-2-25-47-pm

As you can see, on a macro level Vega One pretty much clears the board.  Personally, I care way more about sodium and sugar content compared to fat.

screen-shot-2017-03-03-at-2-25-28-pm

As for nutrition on a micro level, most areas were fairly comparable, though Shakeology had higher levels of Vit C, Vit B6, Vit B12, Iodine, Zinc as well as the last four listed there.  Personally, I think either line up is great in a shake, though the Zinc content in Shakeology could have been causing my stomach problems.

So far I’ve been using Vega One for about 2 days now.  I enjoy the taste of chocolate, only mixing it with 8oz of unsweentened almond milk.  The kids also enjoy it!

(For kids, I do 8oz of milk with about half a scoop of the powder.  Then I blend and divide the shake into two cups so each kid is getting approximately 1/4 of a scoop.  I’ve cleared this practice with a pediatrician.)

Price Comparison

Vega One wins hands down on both per shake price as well as ease of ordering and changing flavors.  I bought mine off of Amazon for $45.99 (that’s $1.49 per ounce and $2.42/shake).  Plus there are eight flavors to choose from and most are Prime so we’re talking 2-day shipping from time of order.

Shakeology has to be purchased through Beachbody or a coach and we’re talking $129.95 for the shake plus I think about $15 shipping if you don’t want to be auto-shipped/billed each month.  Without shipping that’s $4.63/shake.

I’m excited to have found a Shakeology dupe that really seems to check all of my boxes.  Only time will tell if it was the missing link to getting back to where I want to be with my fitness goals.  (I’m also doing a round of PiYo so stay tuned for that post and updates).

I’m curious: Do you use any kind of meal replacement shake?  If yes, which one?

Until next time,
~Laura

**Update: I am now on my third container. The chocolate is very yummy, slightly sweeter and less dense than Vegan Chocolate Shakeology.

My husband especially prefers this over Shakeology.

Ordering from Amazon is so easy and fast!

Let me know what you think if you give it a try!**

4 thoughts on “Friday’s Find: Vega One Nutritional Shake”

  1. Thank you for this post!
    I just ordered sample packets of vega one chocolate, mocha and chai.
    I am looking for a super food shake instead of shakeology. I would love to get shakeo but it’s so expenses I cannot spare it. So it was helpful to read this! I hope it tastes good and that it provides the essiental nutrients for my body everyday.

    Like

    1. I think the chocolate tastes great! Today I threw in half of a banana and a spoonful of almond butter and it was so smooth and creamy! I always use unsweetened almond milk too.
      Let me know how mocha and chai is! I’ve thought of purchasing both.

      Like

Leave a Reply

