Nutrition

Paleo Detox Week: Day 4

orangesWoohoo!  Hello abs!  The permanently bloated stomach has disappeared.  Not only that but I’ve dropped over 3lbs in 4 days.  That’s just over 2.5% of my total body weight.

Post_Workout.4.25.17
I haven’t been this size since mid-December.

80% of weight loss and fitness is WHAT YOU EAT!

You don’t need to hit an exact 80/20 ratio to shed pounds, but it is important for people to focus primarily on diet when they’re trying to lose weight. “You can lose weight without exercise, but you cannot lose weight if your nutrition counteracts your energy expenditure through exercise,” Matheny says.

See Women’s Health Magazine article

Whether my weight loss so far has been water weight or fat I don’t know, but I do know that I’m continuing to feel awesome.  My stomach internally feels GREAT!  I’ve been without pain since Day 2.  I have a feeling already that this will keep me eating paleo (at least mostly) from now on.  Just the weight loss alone is worth it since I’ve been trying to get back to MY normal for quite a few months!

*Note: I do work out daily.  Currently I’ve been either doing a 21DF video (since 30 minutes is so doable and you only need two sets of weights) and/or taking a good walk at a fast pace.

DAY 4 MEALS

Meal 1: two slices of bacon (I slept in and my hubby was cooking up breakfast for the kids – I knew I was going to work out soon so I opted for a little protein beforehand)

*Coffee*

Meal 2: Vega-One with fresh blueberries and a spoonful of almond butter (this was after my workout when I was STARVING lol and I knew it’d get me from post-workout to my lunch hour.  SO GOOD!)

Meal 3: leftovers! chicken and veggies (plus an almond cookie or two)

*Coffee* (I’m feeling pretty productive today and somewhat energetic and I just decided I wanted to drink coffee while working on my computer.  I really enjoy coffee.  That said, I should probably buy decaf for the afternoons . . .)

Meal 4: one egg over easy with half an avocado underneath (awesome, filling snack/meal that kept me going for quite a while)

Meal 5: marinated chicken with roasted potatoes and asparagus

*my after-dinner tea*

(My cookies are gone! I’ll probably have to make more tonight . . . just to keep the cravings away while I watch Seinfeld).

I’m curious: Are these posts helpful? If a daily post is getting boring or seems excessive, I can gather the rest of the data and post on Sunday.  Let me know your thoughts!

Until next time,
~Laura

BTW – The “no wine” is SO hard! lol  I’m not a wino by any means but I do enjoy a glass after dinner.  However, the “no alcohol” part of this week, I think, plays a major role in dropping excess weight.

Leave a Reply

