Minimalism

Minimalism Helped Me Let Go

my rocking chair

My rocking chair.  This beautiful piece of workmanship rocked both my sister and I as infants, as well as my own two children.  I have vivid memories of Chloe piled on this chair, reading her first books with her many stuffed animals. Or being up at 2am with Neil, nursing him sweetly while looking out at the moon-lit lawn below.

And today, I had to let it go.

It had been handled by too many hands that did not understand the sentimental value associated with it’s simple wooden frame.

Before minimalism, I most likely would have insisted on trying to repair it, hauling it back to my in-laws to sit who-knows-where while my husband, busy with job interviews and traveling, attempted to find the time to try to fix it.  Though loved, it would have been an image of sadness while in disrepair and likely wouldn’t have survived another move either way.

But, because of minimalism, I now know that the true value of the chair are the memories made, NOT the chair itself.  I honestly don’t even know if I have any photos of me in that chair with my kiddos.  Most moments were in the wee hours of the morning, while the house was silent and dark, my husband fast asleep.  But even if I don’t have that physical reminder, I know that the memories are strong enough to live on.

Today, though sad, left me feeling lighter.  Besides the rocking chair, I was able to part with pieces that were kept “just in case,” even though I never liked using them, such as a hand-me-down large filing cabinet, that only encouraged (organized) paper hoarding.  And a plastic drawer unit I had since my own childhood that was still usable though very dirty and misshapen.  Goodbye ugly pieces!

As I look towards our next living space I look forward to only allowing in items that I find useful AND beautiful.  I also like the idea of not starting out with too many organizational pieces because hopefully that’ll encourage me to continue to whittle down  the actual stuff as well.

Minimalism has enriched my life in so many ways!  I look forward to a life time of “loving people and using things, because the opposite never works.”

I’m curious: has minimalism helped you let go of a sentimental item?  If so, what was it?

Until next time,
~Laura

Leave a Reply

